News Music for Use on High School Newscast

elopez09227

Hi, I'm a producer for the newscast of my high school. Currently, we are using hip hop beats for music. Okay, not something you'd take seriously, but that's the direction that all the students want to go in. Now I've seen this process being done before, where schools use actual news music from actual news music companies (Gari, 615, etc.).

These questions have probably been asked on this board in the past. But how would I go about getting a professional package on next year's newscasts (since we do the news for only 1st semester)? Do I need to contact the company directly for legal permission? I have a portion of a package, but I'm not going to do anything with it since I don't know of the consequences.

Now I don't know one thing about the news music business, so forgive me here. Is it free to obtain full packages direct from the company? If not, what are the rates (I got my eye on Gari's Image News)? Are there any educational discounts? Will the companies even give anything to schools or is it on a station-only basis? Am I better off getting a cheap production library tune?

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks.