NCAA Coverage

NashvilleTV5

Okay..let me start off by saying, by no means am I sports litterate. I have no knowledge, and not tuned into sports news whatsoever. But last year, all of the Final-Four games of the NCAA were broadcasted on CBS. This year, they aren't! And I'm glad because I don't like how those games pre-empted all the newscasts on the CBS station. So, then does that mean an actual sports channel (like ESPN) picked up the coverage and that all games are broadcasting on ESPN? That's how it should've been in the first place!

at least all the sweet 16-through the national championship will be soon

yeah, but will those be broadcasted on CBS? I'd say leave all sports related programming during the weekdays on ESPN or other sports networks. Exception to weekend programming for major TV networks. By all means, go for it on the weekends!

ESPN will not be carrying ANY NCAA tournament games because they will be airing the NIT.

CSTV will air two first-round out-of-market games on March 15 and 16. They have yet to determine which games they will air.

http://www.cstv.com/sports/m-baskbl/stories/030607acz.html

The rest of the games will be on CBS, which has a contract with the NCAA through 2010 to air the tournament.

Well from what I know of the CBS contract is that CBS will be covering all the games starting the 15th of March. The only game on ESPN is the Play-In game (64 vs. 65). Normally the games play Thursday-Sunday (so this year the 15th through the 19th..23rd through the 26th..and then the Saturday and Monday for the Final 4)

Beyond that, CBS is delegating two games (out-of-market ones) to its little sister network CSTV during the first round. That will be the first time such an arrangement has been made since the ESPN step-in a few years ago during the Iraq War, but that was also a special case.