How The Legend of CRONKITE Continues For Me, and will always live on during my career

newswatch

I am a college student studying journalism (Pikes Peak Community College in Colorado Springs, CO). I have some paid and some unpaid off-campus journalism jobs, which I am gaining paid experience as a finish college. As I'm going through my college years and gaining experience, I'm finding myself in the shoes of WALTER CRONKITE

JOURNALISM EXPERIENCE

Radio Stations - Cronkite worked as a news and sports announcer for KCMO in Kansas City and WKY in Oklahoma City; I was a volunteer announcer for the internet radio station at University of Colorado at Colorado Springs, where I had my own weekly news program.

Newspapers - He worked for newspapers. I worked for an off-campus monthly publication called Newspeak, where I had my on-editorial reporting column; I also was a reporter/writer/editor for the PPCC newspaper.

Miscellaneous Media - He worked for UPI (United Press International) as a correspondent in Moscow. I want to enlist in the Army next year, and after enlistment, I'd like to work for Armed Forces Network.

Newspapers, radio stations, and miscellaneous media - the same experience Cronkite had (to take with to be hired by CBS News) I am currently gaining.

ANCHOR KICKING ASS, COUNTERACTING THE ANCHOR STEREOTYPE

This prime example of Anchors counteracting the stereotypes is when Cronkite did a joint interview with Anwar Sadat of Egypt and Mechamin Begin of Israel in 1977, hoping to bring peace to the two conflicting countries, with the triple handshake by Jimmy Carter to seal the deal.

I would do something like that in a domestic (at home) sense: stories that help bring two conflicting sides together to reach a goal, no matter what that might be. Democrats fighting with Republicans - come up with a unified solution to end the bitch sessions, shake hands, and work together.