XETV set tweak

A3N

For the last few months, XETV has been tweaking its set. Gone are the old CRT monitors, replaced by LED tv's and yesterday, they added a video wall. Aside from new monitors all over the set, nothing else has changed (with the exception of the weather area which was moved a bit to the left of it's former location). Set is about 17 years old...

capture_20160327_220013_zpsyx1wpudj.jpg

capture_20160327_223223_zpsyidwght0.jpg

capture_20160327_223211_zpsjsbkunq4.jpg

Dec 29 1999 was the premier date.

As soon as I get that newscast off VHS I will post it.

I think that set has done well...and I'm NO expert on sets as you all know.

I remember everyone was crazy about the "bubble machine" graphics at the time.

Interesting fact:

For the first few months the newscast was transmitted via sat from the sat truck in the parking lot (not a fixed earth station) while XETV waited for the waiver from the FCC to run fiber/ microwave directly across the border to the transmitter. The sat hop did not require a waiver...but was also not cost effective.

They've kept the desk in pretty good condition, after all these years--unlike KUSI. That being said, they could have fixed a few areas to the sides (interview areas/weather center) since they show up when they take a 3-shot when tossing to weather. In several instances, they've had to use a roll-up CW6 banner to cover up something in the background, and it looks extremely tacky- very H.S. production-ish.

I'm sure they've could have afforded to install one of those FX set-in-a-can, and would have started fresh with a new set. But we all know that XETV doesn't spend money, unless it's forced to--and even then, they do it begrudgingly.