I never realized how complicated the Monday Night Football local rights are.

Spring Rubber

This is my first year back home in Chicago after college, so I had always assumed that WLS aired all of the Bears Monday Night Football games because I would only see the late December MNFs (during my break) while the primetime shows were all on holiday hiatus. Apparently during the TV season, Disney makes sure that the primetime schedule airs uninterrupted on WLS, so they sell the rights off to WGN/WCIU.

This year it looks like WGN is getting the first MNF game in early October; then the late October and late November games will both be on WCIU; no games on WLS this year.

How many games have WGN/WCIU simulcasted for MNF in the past? What year did they start? I can't believe I never even knew they simulcated MNF games.

This will be WGN's first Monday night game, though they carried the Thursday game last year. WCIU has had the early-season Monday games since 2009 or 2010. WLS only carries the games once Dancing with the Stars is over. If the ABC schedule was sitcoms or dramas, there'd be no problem...but DWTS is live and reliant on "audience participation", and I think DWTS voting closes within an hour or so after airtime, so Chicago viewers would be shut-out. I can see why ABC would stop them from showing the football game. Maybe we'll see the games again once they kill DWTS.

Similar situation in Philly. WPVI is the Eagles' official TV station, so they have local rights to Monday/Thursday games. However, Dancing With The Stars has to air live. So they've been subleasing the rights to WPHL.