KSDK Getting New Set

tvweatherman

• 2 weeks later...
It's not a terrible logo, but it looks super retro.

that's what I thought too. not sure I liked it at first until I studied it... and then I saw a poor accent of the arch in the 5 and thought of 5 logos of yore and forgave its shortcomings. Will be interested to see if they keep the standard, generic Tegna graphics or give us something market-centric. KSDK was always a strong station in the nation... wondering if they can recapture the magic.

Naming the newscast 5 on your side is dumb. Is the whole newscast a consumer report? Set change, graphic change is long overdue, and they are finally embracing the fact they are a NBC station, for years they didn't include the peacock anywhere.

Finally an original logo...feels like it's been forever since we've seen something that isn't just a digit set in a generic weight of Helvetica or Gotham. It might have been nice to do something a bit different with the tail of the 5 (that looks very Helvetica-y to me), but they get props for trying something new.

The set looks like a natural evolution of the standard Tegna stuff that we've seen. Recall this trend started at KARE, which looks a bit different than what KING got, and eventually KUSA and KHOU. The "guitar pick" desk looks more or less the same though.

Let's just hope that we don't get a repeat of WTSP out of it! KSDK has always been one of my favorite stations.

I don't think KSDK has the ratings problems that WTSP and KXTV have so they're not going down the "Information Center" route. I watched my first KXTV Late News Tonight show this past weekend and hung my head in shame. Oddly my mid-60s parents were into it though—"At least they're doing something different."